Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


 Image

I read the book The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin it was good and I highly recommend reading it. It got me thinking about the own goals I want to set for myself that I think would lead to a more fulfilling life. We all have those goals that we wish we could keep, old new year’s resolutions, bad habits we need to quit, and I always make a long list of things for new year’s, which ends up being too overwhelming. So to grab an idea from the book, I am going to do each goal one month at a time.

It takes 21 days of doing something in a row for it to become a habit. So essentially after 21 days you won’t dread doing this task it will just come naturally to you to want to do it. So the month time frame is perfect for me, because it allows me a little leeway for screw up’s. Let’s be realistic jumping on the band wagon isn’t going to be easy with every goal and I really want this to be achievable.

Let’s get down to the nitty gritty and by nitty gritty I mean the goals.

(1.) Stop running in circles and Stop chasing people: You probably are wondering what in God’s name is she talking about. Here is a better explanation. I tend to recycle ex-boyfriends (run in circles) when a relationship ends I open that little black book and pull out a name. The past relationships are clearly broken and recycling an ex for an intimate night just needs to stop. There’s actually only one guy in particular I always fall back on. He was my first love, and I know I can count on him to take me home act like he likes me for the night and then it ends there. It’s a Band-Aid and usually I end up feeling worse after because I realize it’s not real. I usually initiate it not him. So that leads to the chasing aspect, stop chasing guys. I don’t know about you but somehow this shift happened where most of my friends ended up chasing or desiring these bad boy guys that will never settle down. Sure they are extremely attractive but they have a lot of un-redeeming qualities as well. I want to be courted, I am a young, attractive, woman. I need to start giving myself a little more credit. Ironically, I have Pandora on and the song that’s playing is “chasing pavements” by Adele. Should I give up or should I keep on chasing pavements, even if it leads nowhere?”

2.) Be Healthy!: I haven’t been much of a workout eccentric but I need to start being one. I need to stay active because people who stay active are healthier, have improved moods, and live longer. So my goal is to workout 4 days a week. I don’t want to lose weight because I am already skin and bones but I want to build muscle, start trying to be more active, and eventually make better food choices. Pizza and cookies 5 times a week isn’t cutting it.

3.) Think positive!: I know the last two are a little abstract but this is the list making phase so don’t judge me! Girls tend to gossip, and gossip, and gossip some more. I just want to start thinking more positive when it comes to other people and about situations. Sometimes I find myself getting stuck in the woe is me and thinking about everything negatively. I need to actively try not to do this.

4.) Get Involved!: I want to choose one organization within my community to get involved with, and volunteer some time. I have helped out here and there with organizations my family members are involved in and it is a rewarding experience every time. I need to find something I support and volunteer my time there. I think it will definitely make me happier.

5.) De-clutter and budget: Budgets have never been my strong suit and either has organization. I need to actually go through my things and de-clutter, simply simplify things. I hate throwing things away and I need to learn to let go of stuff that isn’t used anymore. I also need to start budgeting better and not spending my money on buying more unnecessary crap.

6.) Booze Control: I have cut back on boozing substantially this year because I don’t go out as often. That isn’t the answer, I can’t hide from my past by not going out. That’s what I was doing not going to certain places because my ex would be out. I need to control my drinking in those situations and not binge drink. I need to set a cap at 4 drinks and say after that I am done. To many people I know go out and get blacked out regularly. I do not want to be one of those people when I go out.

That’s all I can think of for now. I feel like I am missing one. I am going to take these one month at a time so I am sure things will come up that I will add on. All of these things will make me happier in general and that’s the point right? To try and make the best out of the little time we get here.

O Yes! Yes! The goal that is starting today… Number one….running in circles and chasing ends here. I will keep you posted on how it’s going.